Our Leadership

As a small congregation, our strength is in our members, who volunteer in all sorts of ways for and on behalf of the synagogue. If you would like to serve Congregation Berith Sholom in any way large or small—as a trustee, committee leader or member, in organizing an event or helping out during High Holiday Services, working in the Troy Jewish Community Religious School classroom or stuffing envelopes—please contact the main office at 518-272-8872 or office@berithsholomtroy.org. Please allow up to 24 hours for a response.

Executive Officers

Beth Hershenhart and Shelley R. Stein, Co-presidents – president@berithsholomtroy.org

Jayne Architzel, Vice President, Religious Life and Principal of TJCRS – tjcrs@berithsholomtroy.org

Sandi Costello, Treasurer – treasurer@berithsholomtroy.org

Linda Woodard, Secretary – secretary@berithsholomtroy.org


Synagogue Staff

Debora S. Gordon, Rabbi – rabbi@berithsholomtroy.org

Jayne Architzel, TJCRS Principal – tjcrs@berithsholomtroy.org

Mary Bryski, Office Manager – office@berithsholomtroy.org



Cole Armstrong, Trustee at Large

Allyson Beletti, Chair of the Lev B’lev Committee –levbylev@berithsholomtroy.org

Beth Hershenhart, Chair of the Sustainability Chevra – chevra@berithsholomtroy.org

David Le Vine, Cemetery Trustee – cemetery@berithsholomtroy.org

Amy Lovett, Chair of the Membership Committee – joinberith@gmail.com

Wendy Neifeld  Wheeler, Trustee at Large

Karl Yesse, Chair of Security – security@berithsholomtroy.org


The board of trustees of Congregation Berith Sholom consists of the officers and of the trustees. Trustees serve three-year terms and may not serve more than three consecutive terms. If you are interested in serving as a trustee, or would like to nominate someone to serve, please contact the main office at 518-272-8872 or berithsholom@gmail.com. Please allow up to 24 hours for a response.